boys studying bible
Hollie - bubbles

Student Awards



David Bertrand and Yvonne Harold were recognized as 2013 Young Maston Scholars during the T.B. Maston Lectures in Christian Ethics, an annual conference hosted by Hardin-Simmons University’s Logsdon Seminary.

The Young Maston Scholar designation is awarded by Hardin-Simmons University in conjunction with nominations made by UMHB and other Texas Baptist-partnering universities in an effort to recognize outstanding undergraduate students for their interest in, engagement with, and integration of Christian ethics. Bertrand and Harold were nominated for the honor by Dr. David Morgan and the faculty of UMHB’s College of Christian Studies.

Nominations are based upon a student’s demonstrated faithfulness to the ethical example of Christ; a commitment to Christian ethics lived out in theological inquiry and academic excellence; an established reputation among peers for ethical Christian leadership; and an articulated clarity in an occupational expression of ministry, though it is not required to be in a congregational setting.

In addition to receiving formal recognition during this year’s lectures, Bertrand and Harold participated in an auxiliary ethics retreat sponsored by the T.B. Maston Foundation, as well as an exclusive ethics roundtable with this year’s Maston Lecturer, Dr. Molly Marshall, president of Central Baptist Theological Seminary in Shawnee, Kansas.

Both the Young Maston Scholar designation and the T.B. Maston Lectures in Christian Ethics seek to honor the legacy of Dr. T.B. Maston, longtime professor of Christian Ethics and pioneering Baptist ethicist, known for his writing and teaching in the areas of biblical ethics, race relations, family life, the Christian life and vocation, church and state, and character formation.

Student Oriented - Academically Focused - Biblically Grounded